Each year at The Amazing Meeting, a presentation is made remembering the people of skepticism who have died since the previous year’s event. Advocates and supporters of skepticism and science are remembered of course, in the "In Memoriam" section of the presentation. But we also remember our cultural competitors who have passed on as well, in the "Passages" section. This year we also included some individuals who had died in previous years but who had been missed in previous presentations.

Here is the presentation as it appeared at TAM 2014 this year.

The presentation was designed and produced by Daniel and Cheryl Loxton. The information was researched by Tim Farley with help from Tim Binga, Kendrick Frazier, Sharon Hill, Jim Lippard, Hemant Mehta, Lei Pinter, Robert Sheaffer and Jamy Ian Swiss, among others.

The complete list of names is below in alphabetical order, with links to additional information.

In Memoriam

Skeptics, pioneering scientists, allies and thinkers from parallel rationalist movements.

Ian Barbour (1923—2013)
Robert Bellah (1927—2013)
Sandra Bem (1944—2014)
Marc Blondel (1938—2014)
Eric Broze (1970—2014)
Peter Bügel (1945—2013)
Nigel Calder (1931—2014)
Joel Carpenter (1959—2014)
Narendra Dabholkar (1945—2013)
Ciro de Quadros (1940—2014)
Soley Edamaruku (1934—2014)
Gerald Edelman (1929—2014)
Pekka Elo (1949—2013)
Thomas Ferrick (1929—2013)
Dustin Finney (1982—2011)
Radu Florescu (1925—2014)
Alan J. Friedman (1942—2014)
Jacinto García (1913—2014)
H.R. Giger (1940—2014)
Bernard "Duke" Gildenberg (1925—2013)
Susan M. Goldfrank (1943—2013)
Margherita Hack (1922—2013)
C.E.M. Hansel (1917—2011)
Simon Hoggart (1946—2014)
Edwin Kagin (1940—2014)
Aykut Kence (1946—2014)
Leonard J. Kerpelman (1925—2013)
Hank Kocol (1937—2013)
George Kukla (1930—2014)
Jeffrey Paul Lucas (1956—2013)
Ali Maow Maalin (1954—2013)
Mike Morwood (1950—2013)
Kit Moser (1944—2014)
Rob H. Nanninga (1955—2014)
Peter Pockley (1935—2013)
Frederick Pohl (1919—2013)
Joseph Steinberg (??—2013)
Alex Stoker (1973—2013)
Michael Strieb (1970—2013)
Laszlo Toth (1951—2013)
Daniel Wegner (1948—2013)
Bernard Winograd (1950—2014)
Warren Wolf (1941—2014)


Proponents, advocates and other persons of note.

Sylvia Browne (1936—2013)
Harold Camping (1921—2013)
Chow Yam-nam (1937—2013)
Eileen Coly (1916—2013)
Paul Crouch (1934—2013)
Bobby Drinnon (1952—2014)
Ed Dufresne (1941—2013)
Olivia Durdin-Robertson (1917—2013)
Claus Fritzsche (1964—2014)
William J. Guste, Jr. (1922—2013)
Patrick Heron (1952—2014)
Alexander Imich (1903—2014)
José Luis de Jesús (1946—2013)
Joie Pierce Jones (1941—2013)
John Joseph (1955—2014)
Paul Karason (1950—2013)
Joyce Marie Kearney (1943—2013)
James Keegstra (1934—2014)
Kenny Kingston (1927—2014)
Roger Leir (1935—2014)
Scott Lewis (1963—2013)
Roy Mackal (1925—2013)
Jesse Marcel Jr. (1936—2013)
Steve Moore (1949—2014)
Elaine Morgan (1920—2013)
Gordon Novel (1938—2012)
Edward T. Oakes (1948—2013)
Augusto Odone (1933—2013)
Tom Perrott (1921—2013)
Fred Phelps (1929—2014)
Amrut Prajapati (1941—2014)
Lloyd Pye (1946—2013)
Michael Ruppert (1951—2014)
Max Toth (1937—2011)
Kobus Van Rensburg (1952—2013)
Solomon Wickey (1938—2013)
Colin Wilson (1931—2013)
Frederick Zugibe (1928—2013)